MACA

Mapping Autistic Cognitive Disabilities

MACA is a research program on autistic cognition. Its conceptual instrument is optimal cognition. The postulate is the following: even though the cognitive phenotype is variable inter and intra-individually, which is particularly true in autism, any individual placed in an enabling environment harnesses the cognitive functions best suited to this particular situation, which makes it possible not only to identify the individual cognitive process but also to measure it at its peak. This approach complements the classical paradigm for the study of cognitive deficits.

The objective of MACA is to map the cognitive and perceptive abilities of individuals with autism and to propose a taxonomy of autism that integrates the peaks of mental abilities.

The MACA program is conceived from the outset as open research, to which scientists and citizens can contribute. It is divided into three areas of research:

MACA-games:

Creation of experimental video games designed to measure the cognitive skills of players. This approach is based on the concept of Psychological Flow and on the motivating power of video games. The objective is to obtain, for each individual, a profile of his peaks of cognitive and perceptive skills.

Our first game, StopBus, is currently in production. It will evaluate the ability of autistic children to produce algorithms. For many children, video games provide an attractive, accessible and reassuring environment. It is possible to play from home, on computer, tablet and smartphone. The security of sensitive data is ensured by anonymization and aggregation operations.

Because we believe that the fun quality of video games is fundamental both for the experience of the participants and for the quality of the data we collect, we have abandoned the term “serious games” in favor of “meaningful games”. In other words, we want participation in our research to be as simple as child’s play.

Contributors: Mourdjen Bari, Sylvain Terlutte, Benjamin Misiak. With the support of Compas and Auticonsult.

f-MACA :

Research into the biographical, cognitive, perceptive and emotional specificities of women with Asperger’s syndrome or any form of high level autism in order to identify the factors explaining the diagnostic difficulties in this population.

Collaborators: Adeline Lacroix, Pauline Duret, Laurent Mottron, Agnieszka Rynkiewicz. With the support of the Mission for Interdisciplinarity of the CNRS.

OMNI-MACA :

To describe, develop and apply the potential of an atypical musical instrument (the OMNI), on the one hand as an empowerment tool for individuals with severe disabilities (especially the most severe forms of autism), and on the other hand as a field for ecological observation of non-verbal cognitive abilities.

Collaborators: Laurent Bonnasse-Gahot, Patrice Moullet. With the support of the association Musaiques chaired by Cédric Villani.

MACA

Mapping Autistic Cognitive Disabilities

MACA est un programme de recherche sur la cognition autiste. Son instrument conceptuel est la cognition optimale. Le postulat est le suivant : quand bien même le phénotype cognitif est variable inter et intra-individuellement, ce qui est particulièrement vrai dans l’autisme, tout individu placé un environnement capacitant mobilise ses fonctions cognitives les plus adaptées à cette situation particulière, ce qui permet non seulement d’identifier l’outillage individuel mais aussi de le mesurer à son apogée. Cette approche complète le paradigme classique d’étude des déficits cognitifs. L’objectif de MACA est d’établir une cartographie des capacités cognitives et perceptives des individus autistes et de proposer une taxonomie de l’autisme intégrant les pics d’habiletés mentales.

Le programme MACA est conçu dès le départ comme une recherche ouverte, à laquelle scientifiques et citoyens peuvent contribuer. Il se décompose en trois recherches :

MACA-games :

Création de jeux videos expérimentaux conçus pour mesurer les compétences cognitives des joueurs. Cette approche est basée sur le concept de Flow psychologique et sur le pouvoir motivant du jeu video. L’objectif est d’obtenir, pour chaque individu, un profil de ses pics d’habiletés cognitives et perceptives.

Notre premier jeu, StopBus, est en cours de production. Il permettra d’évaluer les capacités des enfants autistes à produire des algorithmes. Le jeu video constitue pour nombreux enfants un environnement attractif, accessible et rassurant. Il est possible de jouer de chez soi, sur ordinateur, tablette et smartphone. La sécurité des données sensibles est assurée par des opérations d’anonymisation et d’aggrégation.

Parce que la qualité ludique des jeux videos nous parait fondamentale tant pour l’expérience des participants  que pour la qualité des données que nous collectons, nous avons abandonné le terme de “serious games” au profit de “meaningful games”. En d’autres termes, nous souhaitons que la participation à notre recherche soit aussi simple qu’un jeu d’enfant.

Collaborateurs : Mourdjen Bari, Sylvain Terlutte, Benjamin Misiak. Avec le soutien de Compas et d’Auticonsult.

f-MACA  :

Recherche des spécificités biographiques, cognitives, perceptives et émotionnelles des femmes porteuses du syndrome d’Asperger ou toute forme d’autisme de haut niveau afin d’identifier les facteurs expliquant les difficultés diagnostiques dans cette population.

Collaborateurs : Adeline Lacroix, Pauline Duret, Laurent Mottron, Agnieszka Rynkiewicz. Avec le soutien de la mission pour l’interdisciplinarité du CNRS.

OMNI-MACA :

Décrire, développer et appliquer le potentiel d’un instrument de musique atypique (l’OMNI), d’une part comme outil d’empowerment pour les individus porteurs de handicap lourd (notamment les formes les plus sévères d’autisme), et d’autre part comme terrain d’observation écologique des capacités cognitives non verbales.

Collaborateurs : Laurent Bonnasse-Gahot, Patrice Moullet. Avec le soutien de l’association Musaiques présidée par Cédric Villani.